Simple Sewing Instructions for Skirts

Just thought I would share instructions for sewing up simple skirts for your girls without needing a pattern.  A good friend told me how to do this. 

1. Pre-wash material, dry and iron.

2. Measure hips at widest point – hip measurement plus 6" divide by 4 – this is what the top measurement of the skirt will be.

3. Decide on length of skirt and subtract how much you want for ruffle.

4. Fold material as needed to obtain 2 pieces as follows – for my girls I just folded the material in half, since it is corduroy both pieces needed to go the same way, so I couldn’t fit two skirt pieces across.  (one going up and the other down) Some material is wide enough to do so.  With this skirt piece the top measurement is 8 1/2" and bottom is 13".  You can make it however full you would like it to be.  As you can see the one corner is rounded just a bit.  For this skirt – length is 20" and ruffle is 10".  We like the wider ruffle.  One side of skirt is along the fold and the other is the cut edge. 

5. Cut 2 ruffle pieces 1 1/2 times the measurement of skirt.  These were full wideth of material.

6. Cut 3 1/4" waistband, fold in half and iron.  Again full wideth of material, just cut off excess after sewn onto skirt.

A pic of all the pieces

7. Sew a narrow hem on ruffle pieces.

8. Sew two rows of gathering stitches on top of ruffle or use your gathering attachment on serger.  I just was recently given one of those (gathering attachment) and do I ever like it! 

9. Gather and attach ruffle to bottom of skirt.

10. Sew up one side seam.

11.Attach waistband to top of skirt to form casing for elastic.

12. Cut elastic 2" less than waist measurement, thread elastic through casing and secure at ends.

13. Sew up last seam and you are all done!

P.s This is a different skirt than the one above.    Haven’t sewn up that one yet.  Hope to do that tomorrow.   You can also make the skirt without a ruffle, just make your skirt length longer.

Please ask any questions if you have any. 

6 thoughts on “Simple Sewing Instructions for Skirts

  1. Oh, neat! A new friend of mine offered to help me learn to sew! I am so excited! Thank you for posting this!

    I was thinking of you today! So close and you will meet that sweet baby, huh?! 🙂 Wow, you are awesome, out working in the garden and all…I get kinda lazy-ish at times when I'm at the end of pregnancy! 🙂

    Blessings Tanya!!
    Amy @ http://www.theviewfromhiddenvalley.blogspot.com

  2. Thank you for sharing the skirt pattern! Going to try it. (When time permits) I like easy skirt patterns because I don't really know how to sew, and am trying to learn and teach my daughters at the same time. It's hard to find modest clothes in the stores any more.

  3. I have a question. I can't seem to wrap my head around your pattern instructions. For the 4th step. Do I need 2 pieces of the width of pattern I need? Like in your first picture. How did you figure out how to get the corderoy to go the same way? Do you fold the left side and the right side in to the middle? I bought some corderoy for my gal and I'd love to figure out how to make this lovely skirt for her. I am also not sure just how much yardage of cloth to buy to make this.

    Thanks if you get this and can help me figure it out.
    Shell

I love hearing from you!!

