Muffins, Cleaning & More

Here I’m sitting again at the computer while my bread sponge is rising again in the bosch.  Hopefully, I don’t forget it like last time!   We can honestly say we have no bread in the house, so I must bake if the girls are going to have bread for their school lunch tomorrow.  🙂

Today, we enjoyed a cozy day in the house while outside it rained most of the day, which then turned to snow.  Thankfully the snow is not staying, but that wind is cold!  My seed order was delivered right to our front door this morning by the mailman, so now I’m itching to get my hands in the soil.  According to the weather forecast warmer weather is coming back.  🙂

A little boy disappointed that he was not able to go out and play today. He loves the outdoors!

School wise, the day was ok.  Had some rough moments, but also some moments worth more than gold.  🙂  I caught up on some ironing too while helping one son do his math, so that was good!  We have a goal of being done school for the summer by the first of June.  Although, I am planning to have the boys do one page of math about 3-4 days a week.  Our oldest son really struggles with math and so I would hate to lose it all during the summer.  We shall see how it goes….

Just before supper, I made up some muffins, using the recipe below.  I was just about ready to fill the muffin cups, when I realized I had used way too much butter.  I used enough for 4 recipes, not 2.  So out came more ingreds. and I ended doubling the recipe times 4.  First time I made the recipe and they are so delicious!!  Good thing, because four recipes made just over 4 dz.  🙂

Mmmmm….. look at those delicious muffins!

Chunky Apple Muffins

  • 1 medium Granny Smith apple, peeled, cored, and quartered
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon plus 2 pinches salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, toasted (omit if serving to children under 3)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put muffin papers in muffin tins or spray tins with oil and set aside. Cut 3 apple quarters into 1/4-inch dice; cut remaining apple quarter into 12 thin slices for garnish.
  2. Whisk together sugar, flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Add diced apple and walnuts, if using; toss to coat.Whisk together eggs, buttermilk, and butter in a small bowl. Gently fold buttermilk mixture into flour mixture until just combined; do not overmix. Divide batter among muffin cups, filling each about three-quarters full. Top each with an apple slice. Bake until muffins are brown around edges and spring back when touched, 16 to 18 minutes. Let muffins cool slightly, about 5 minutes, before turning out of tin onto a wire rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Muffins can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 2 days.

My kitchen was a real mess this evening and here’s proof…..

So much better and a lovely sight to see in the morning.

Bread rising in the oven, which is now baking. 🙂

A lovely stack of muffins! Wonder how long they will last…. 😀

Well, I’m off to read a story to the children before bed time.  We are reading “Because of Winn-Dixie”, it’s a cute story.    It was a good day here.  God is faithful and oh, so good!

I love hearing from you!!

