Spritz Cookies

I know I’ve been quiet here, my days are just plan busy and it doesn’t leave much time for blogging.

Anyways, today I thought I’d join the blog hop over at Joyous  Notions and share a cookie recipe with you.  Just last week, I hosted a cookie exchange with a number of other moms from our homeschool group.  What a fun evening and we ended up with many delicious cookies!!  Sadly we are nearing the end of them all, but we so enjoyed them while they lasted.  I guess cookies don’t last long in a family of 9!  LOL

So here is the recipe I made and shared with the other moms.

SPRITZ COOKIES
Put through a cookie press. These are either decorated before baking, left plain or dipped in melted chocolate. Nice & crisp.   6-7 dozen
1 cup (2 sticks) butter OR hard margarine, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1-1/2 tsps vanilla
3 cups all purpose flour
½ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
Cream together butter or margarine & sugar well. Beat in eggs, 1 at a time. Add vanilla.
Stir in flour, baking powder & salt. Force dough through cookie press onto ungreased cookie sheets. Decorate with small colored sugar beads, if desired.
Bake in 400ºF oven about 10-12 mins until edges begin to brown.

Variations….  🙂
CHOCOLATE SPRITZ: Exchange 6 tblsps flour for an equal amount of cocoa.
ORANGE SPRITZ: Add 2 tsps grated orange rind & ½ tsp orange flavoring.
ALMOND SPRITZ: Add 1 tsp almond flavoring
CHOCOLATE ORANGE SPRITZ: Exchange 6 tblsps flour for an equal amount of cocoa. Add 2 tsps orange extract. Good.

I just have the chocolate ones left, I also had the plain cookies and then sprinkled red and green sugar beads on top.

3 thoughts on “Spritz Cookies

I love hearing from you!!

