New Fish And Alphabet Letters

Recently on Pinterest, I saw fabric letters and a magnetic fishing set.  I was looking for some homemade toys to make and put in their stockings and thought these would be perfect!

  
The first thing I made were the alphabet letters and I hunted though my many boxes of scrap fabric and founds lots to choose from.  It kind of happened by accident, but I found some fabrics to coordinate along with the letter.  A – airplane print, B – baking print, C- car print, F- Farm print, H- heart print, J-jungle print, L- ladybug print, P-purple polka dot print, Q-quilt print, S- sunflower print, T- tool print and so on.  They turned out really cute and I’m hoping in the new year to help our 4 year old son learn his alphabet.  I made them for him.  We need to get to learning our letters and recognizing them individually.  πŸ™‚  Anyways, I had a lot of fun sewing these up!
  
  
   
 I made two fishing sets and did it a little differently then the tutorial I used.  I saved myself some time by not sewing the fish right sides together and then having to turn them right side out, stuffing and then hand sewing the opening closed.  I just sewed them up the same way I did the alphabet letters and pinked the edges.  πŸ™‚  They are really cute and the little boys have had fun playing with them.  I love homemade toys…..  As I was looking these up just now to share the links, I came across this tutorial.  Looks like a fun way to do it too!

    

Another project I did was balls.  I sewed up two balls for baby Joel using this tutorial.  I sewed up a large and medium ball.  Along with the stuffing I put in a bell.  I think I’ll try a small sewing a small ball too.  πŸ™‚ They are cute, its take a bit of effort to make them look rounded, but it wasn’t too hard.  These balls are perfect for in the house and they shouldn’t break any windows.  πŸ˜‰

All of these projects were made out of my stash of fabric scraps, the only thing I had to purchase were washers and magnets.

It has been fun sewing again and I’m hoping to do more in the new year, I do have to get my sewing machine looked at though first.  It has quit working, but thankfully I could borrow my mom’s machine and complete my projects.

I also sewed up a couple decorative hearts for my oldest two daughters to hang in their room and they turned out sweet too.

I have discovered that I  miss sewing!

Next up on my “I would like to do” project list is-

  1. quiet book for Joel –  so many cute ideas on pinterest!
  2. indoor tent or tepee for the children – Again on Pinterest (this would be a fun addition to the playroom)
  3. Doll  –   just because….  πŸ˜‰
  4. Fabric bins – these look interesting and I need bins to organize my sewing area.  Not sure how much the pellon costs thought, but I have fabric!  πŸ˜€

Just to name a few, plus our youngest daughter wants to learn how to sew and I have a easy quilt already cut out for us to start on.

Slowly working my way back into sewing…..  it has been rather enjoyable too!!  Just need to set aside a bit of time each week after the school work is finished for the day.   I’ll have to see if I can take one afternoon a week or every other week to put aside just for sewing/crafting during the winter months.

Anyone want to join me in making a quiet book?  This would be fun to do with someone!!  πŸ™‚

 

2 thoughts on “New Fish And Alphabet Letters

  1. Hi Tanya!
    Love the ideas! I think my babies would love it if I sewed them some stuff too! πŸ˜‰ did sew some dolls clothes and Lydia loved it!……this might sound dumb…but what is a quiet book?
    ❀

I love hearing from you!!

