Mongolia – Part 1

img_3915_zpsl2jngrrj

Happy faces before our flight to Beijing 🙂

This past September, our second oldest daughter, our youngest son and I took a trip the far way land of Mongolia.   Why Mongolia you may ask??  The reason was we really wanted to visit some friends there as our daughter’s best friend lives there with her family.   We left on a Wednesday evening and arrived in Beijing Thursday evening and that is when the “fun” began. We had just a 2 hour layover and since we arrived late, had to collect our luggage and catch the 20 or so minute shuttle bus to another terminal, we arrived at that check in just 10 minutes before our next plane was to leave.  We were told the check in was already closed and we had to wait until the next flight the next evening.  Talk about disappointing and scary!   After a numerous times, I was able to finally get on wifi and let my hubby know back home that we missed our flight and ask him to let our friends know.  I was in tears, but felt peace that God was going to take care of us.    We found some benches and tried to slept.  That was one long night…..  The next morning at 9am I called the airline we were taking and told them my story and they told me that seats were available on the evening flight, but they  could not hold any for me.  They told me to come to the check in at 6pm.  So I spent the day praying that we would get on that flight.  Thankfully our youngest was such a great traveler and we nap and just walked around the terminal.  6pm comes and I go to check in and hear the dreaded news, “I’m sorry, but there are no seats available.”  I was in tears, I could not imagine another night and day in the airport.  I told them that and they said come back at 8pm.  So that whole time I’m pleading with God to please get on us that plane.  Finally it’s 8pm, I go to check in and they call me over and start filling out forms and check in our luggage  and the next thing I know I have real tickets in my hand!  Thank you Lord!!  (I should mention that they said maybe we could go on standby) But here we had real tickets with seat numbers and the girl told us to hurry to your gate.  So off we ran! My poor daughter was feeling a bit sick and struggled to keep up with her mom, but I was not going to miss that plane!  LOL  We were one of the last people on the plane, but I was just so happy to be on the plane!!

Landing in Mongolia and picking up our luggage was uneventful and quick and the next thing we knew we were with familiar faces.  Such joy!!

img_39151-001_zpsfips0unq

We had a 7 hour drive to our friend’s home.  Most was at night, so we didn’t see the landscape on route until our way back to the airport just a week later.

I’ll share more about our trip and try to update on what’s going on here at our homestead too.  Much to share.

More coming!

One thought on “Mongolia – Part 1

  1. So nice to see a post from you. It sounds like you had quite the adventure at the airport! 🙂 Was this your first time visiting Mongolia? I look forward to hearing more about your trip and what’s been happening on the homestead. Have a blessed rest of the week.
    Angela

I love hearing from you!!

