My Mother in Law

I know I mentioned in one of my Mongolian posts about how my mother in law was staying with us and we were caring for her because she was unable to because of lung cancer.  She spent about 1 & 1/2 months here in our home, during that time she had two hospital visits.  For the most part her time here was beautiful and she thoroughly enjoyed our noisy household.  We turned our office into a room for her and even though she couldn’t leave her bed much, she enjoyed hearing the noise and being that the office was on the main floor, our children could pop in and out.

We enjoyed a lovely Christmas together, but just a couple days after Christmas, we could see that she was declining in health.  On Dec. 30, we had to make the difficult decision of moving her into palliative care.  She was just too weak for us to help and her breathing was getting worse.  We stayed night and day with her there and on Wednesday, Jan 4/17 at 11:30am, she breathed her last with my husband and mother by her side holding her hands.  I had spent the night with my husband and her and had come home to make sure the children were ok and get a shower.  I was just heading back when my husband texted me to let me know she was dying and I so wanted to be there with my husband, but it wasn’t in God’s plan.

Even though the past couple months have been difficult and filled with tears, we have beautiful memories and  God faithfully lead us each step of the way.  I’d have fears and questions pop up and I’d wonder how we would handle such and such, but every time those questions were answered and a way I never imagined.  God is good even in the difficult and sad times.

Tomorrow is going to be a difficult day. 😢 A beautiful service is planned to honour my dear mother in law. The burial will take place in the spring so it won’t be completely over tomorrow…..

Pray for comfort and peace as we go through the afternoon tomorrow.

Rest in peace, dear mother of my husband, I promise to take loving care of your dear son. ❤️❤️ I know he meant the world to you as he does to me and I’m thankful for him and for you for raising a wonderful son who became my own dear husband.

You will not be forgotten and we will treasure you always in our hearts and your memories will be shared with our children so that they will remember you too.

Helen Mary Haas

July 29/47 – Jan. 4/17

 

2 thoughts on “My Mother in Law

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. How special that she was able to be surrounded by her loving family in the final months. May God comfort and bless you and your family and may you find joy in all the beautiful, precious memories you have. Matthew 5:4

I love hearing from you!!

